Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to colorado and this forum. I was wondering about the Tiger Muskie fishing in the state? I have read that Quincy is the best place to go but have not talked to anyone that has fished it. Im guessing that the tipical Big Jerk baits and Spinner Baits would work. So any information would be helpfull. Thaks in advance!

·
Registered
1,863 Posts
Quincy hasn't been a tiger muskie fishery in years. They stopped stocking I think in 2001 and being hybrids they cannot reproduce. I think there is still 1 or 2 in there but it would be pointless to go there to target them, unless of course you want to catch bass

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
Lunkerhunter,

When you reach 50 posts on this forum, I will give you information.

·
Registered
2,878 Posts
I've only caught one in all the years I've been fishing. Had a good one on about a year ago and it took off and broke my line like it was thread. I've seen them sunning themselves a lot on warm days. These fish are crazy strong-much stronger than pike IMO.

The one that I caught I caught on a jerk.

·
Registered
358 Posts
I've only got one musky in my life..........I also wasn't fishing for them that day I caught one......I was walking along the shore line huckin a white roster tail........... out of nowhere I got a viscous strike and then he popped off.........I immediately cast back out and he hit it again........ this time I landed him.......... an awesome experience to have had! Whomp's right though some thorough research will bring you closer to what your looking for....... good luck on chasing a sweet fish!

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
I should make one thing clear. My success in CO for muskie is horrible. I have been hit up by a few people and I am willing to share bits of information that I have, but by no means do I claim to be a successful muskie fisherman in this state. That said, this year I will get my big one.

·
Registered