Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,547 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will be the first to admit this hook is pretty, and creates a wonderful profile in anything that is tied on it. The flies just look superb on there.

It's just that the dang thing is very, very weak. More so than other hooks in the same size and wire. I feel that this is due to the non-parabolic geometry, in other words the way that the curvature of the bend is continuously variable, and gets "tighter" towards the back of the throat. As I am not a structural engineer, I will admit before I get stomped for that statement that I may be in error. But that seems like a reasonable assessment given what I have to go on. You will notice that when a 200R fails, the hook springs at the area toward the rear of the bend, just behind the barb, where the curvature flattens out. When a TMC 2488 fails, it does so in a more "graceful" rather than "catastrophic" manner, and will often (though not always) keep you hooked up. But a beatis looks odd on a 2488...

I know I am not the only one that this frustrates. Why not make a stouter wire version, with a bit more gap, (say, 1.5X gap) so we can use it to tie pretty, strong flies? (I have the same feelings about the Mustad C49S, especially in the smaller sizes. Gorgeous, sexy, totally un-usable.)

Failing a TMC 200RH, does anyone have a candidate for a stronger hook with a similar geometry, perhaps one of the Euro hooks?

thanks!

·
Registered
11,844 Posts
GREAT topic... Love the hook, hate the weakness, cost me a 10lb plus fish at Antero last year.

The hook I have used since then is the Daiichi 1270 and I am really liking the 1870 too. Both seem to be heavier guage steel.
http://www.flyfishingnetwork.com/FlyBuy/FlyBuyDaiichiTrout.html

That said, I have not tested the Daiichi hooks too much on fish, only on the vise, and they seem to perform much better.

·
Registered
5,983 Posts