Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to make a trip for toothy critters this Saturday. All of my friends are slaughtering fish out east, but I want to take advantage of an early ice out in the hills this year. Will be leaving from Thornton around 3:00 or 3:30 AM. Have a couple of spots in the hills in mind. I have caught pike before but I am no expert, so don't sign up thinking you are riding with someone who knows what the F he's doing... :biggrin1:

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
I will warn, Ice off pike can be TOUGH... not sure where you will be going... I would love to go but have to work... sigh.

·
Registered
5,192 Posts
Good luck
Would be fun, but as J said they aren't no walleye.

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Good luck
Would be fun, but as J said they aren't no walleye.
You two are prolly right, but lots of fish can be suckers right at ice off, even bass. I am talking, right at ice off. It's worth a shot and I am tired of walleyes for the season.

BTW, this is what I got last time I drove that far to chase pike by myself:

That scar would have been on my head if I didn't use my hand to protect my it. I'm kind of a wuss now when to comes to driving far by myself. :-[

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
I just sent you some info... I agree with you on ice out... and if I wasn't working Sat, I would go with you quick. I got the jones bad right now.

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I just sent you some info... I agree with you on ice out... and if I wasn't working Sat, I would go with you quick. I got the jones bad right now.
Thanks, I'll take a look.

·
Registered
24,552 Posts
Good luck Linh...

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #11

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Between my two boys and their soccer games my weekends are locked up for the next decade. Good luck! Might not be a numbers game but hopefully you stick a few pigs.