Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to boating, my boat came with a transom saver that connects to the trailer. However I noticed that the outboard (Mercury 90 4 Stroke) comes with a latch that can also support the motor. Any recommendations as to which is the better support system?

·
Registered
9,427 Posts
use the transom saver it is for going down the road if you hit a chuck hole and the trailor bounces it takes some of the shock off the transom the motor block leaves all the weight of the motor on the transom. if you just use the motor block and you hit a bump it can cause a air bubble in your hydrolic cylinder in which case you motor wont go up or down. the bigger the motor the more important it is to use a transome saver. it cost me a fishing trip to find out about using the motor block, got to the lake and the motor wouldn't go up or down, went back to the dealer and he showed me how to bleed the air out. i know some people use nothing but the motor block and get by with it. think about it if you have 600 lbs of motor hanging on your transom every bounce strains the boat. let the trailon take some of that bounce

if it is set up right you cant use both at once. i only use the motor block to go to the campsite at slow speed

·
Registered
16,529 Posts
Use your transom saver. Dont use the motor latch thingy. I Use the transom saver if im simply going from the ramp to the parking lot.

·
Registered
563 Posts
I use the wedge. www.my-wedge.com. It works great on my Merc 90 Its fast it stores anywhere Just slip it over the tilt trim piston rod and lower the motor dow on it. I trailered my boat over 4000 miles this spring. and some the roads were really bumpy. Ive had it for five years now and had no problems.

·
Registered
3,266 Posts