Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to boat fishing and have a few questions. Just bought a boat and put it in the water yesterday for the first time at Jackson. It has an Eagle Z6000 fish finder, no trolling motor or trolling plate. I was able to troll pretty slowly but I'm not sure how slow is too slow or how fast is too fast. Also, there isn't any manual for the fish finder so I'm not sure how that works. Lots of little blips on the screen with a number below them which I'm assuming is the depth that the blips are at. It also has a number clear at the bottom which I'm assuming is the actual bottom depth.
Any help is appreciated, I have two young boys that are aching to catch some fish!!

·
Registered
603 Posts
Hi and welcome..
Try this link for a manual for your eagle fish finder. http://www.eaglegps.com/default.htm I did not see your specific model but perhaps you can dig a little deeper and find it. They have downloadable manual on the site. Another thing to try is to play with the menu a little and see if you can find the demo screen and activate that. They will often show you the various features that your unit is capable of performing. You should also se something that will allow you to set it back to factory default settings. This is a good place to start and then begin to tinker with it to learn about your unit's capabilities and be able to interpret what you are seeing on the screen.
The manual will also show you how your transducer should be positioned for optimum results. Make sure that is as it is supposed to be or you will get all kinds of strange readings.

As for trolling speed,, There are others that can assist you better than I can,, It would help to know what type of boat and motor you have to see if your at least in te ballpark for an average trolling speed. There are also many accessories that will allow you to slow your trolling speed if you desire.

Brett

·