Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off Hello to everyone on the board. I'm new to fishing but it seems that i'm "hooked" lol. I have a few questions since i am very new to this i have been sticking with smaller lakes to go fishing and practicing different bait and set-ups. I have gone to Bear Creek lake NO LUCK and also i headed up to ST. Vrains Park caught a couple small trout and a larger Gizzard Shad. My question is where should a beginner go? what should i use to be more effective bait wise? and should i stick to live rather than plastic when possible?Thanks for any help!! also i dont only want to fish for Trout so any other tips for different fish would be great too!!!

M

·
0 Posts
Those are some pretty broad questions that would be tough to address in a single reply. Different techniques have different effects depending on the body of water, the time of the year, etc., etc. I would say go through the forum and the fishing reports as best you can to pick up on techniques. If there is a particular body of water you are looking to target, click on the search button and type in the name of the lake or river - you should get some pretty good reports! If it's a particular species - use the search feature for that species. There's a lot of good info in these threads!

·
Registered
164 Posts
Well Said Mr. Ed... There are just to many variables when it comes to fishing to address in one post

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
Drift nightcrawlers in streams. Works year round.

·
Registered
636 Posts
If it is trout you want, wait a few weeks for the DOW to start its fishing/sticking report again and just follow the stocking truck. Basically anything will catch them.

·
Registered
902 Posts