Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been trying to figure out this troling game and have been seeing alot of fish in the 20'-25' depth range on the Lowrance recently. I assume that using lead core line will get my lures down in the strike zone but I've never used lead core before. I've been using shad raps and flicker shads that will dive to around 10'-12' deep and been moving at 1.8mph or so. So I'm wondering how to gauge how deep down the lures are running by the number of colors of line I run out? All I know is that the line is a different color at different lengths but I don't Know how to tell how much depth I'm adding for each color? Also wondering if I can use a spincasting reel with lead core or is a bait caster better?

Thanks for any help and advice!

·
Registered
2,758 Posts
The box of lead core will have a rough guide, something like 7 feet per color at 2 mph. So three colors puts you right there in the strike zone. You'll use a large baitcasting type reel. Cabellas has some leadcore rod/reel combos right now at a pretty good price.

·
Registered
1,716 Posts
If you know you lake pretty well and its not full of weeds, consider a used or inexpensive downrigger set up. You don't need a big setup or weight to get 20-30 feet down. Cranking the rig up and down will give the crew something to do.
Pulling walleye in on three colors of leadcore is not much fun.

·
Registered
6,182 Posts
I was considering the same thing the other night. How about snap weights? I haven't used them, wondering if any of you have?

·
Registered
1,601 Posts