Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I was trying out my new swimbait setup and casting some lures yesterday in this little retention pond behind my apartment. It's the same spot that I've used to catch creek chubs for bait. First I tried out my bbz1 junior in shad to see how it felt to cast and see how much distance I could achieve. Then I threw on my regular bbz1 in silver fish. I threw it for a while and tried to get a feel for it. It's a sweet lure. I know there are way nicer swibaits out there but I'm new to the whole swimbait deal so I really have a thing for this lure. It's just cool- I really like it and the way it looks in the water. I can't wait to get the mackerel or sardine bbz1 and use it down in San diego for yellowtail and calicos and stuff. It's always fun to pull out lures on the party boats that no one has ever seen. Anyways, I was getting down to the last few casts and as soon as my swimbait hit the water I could feel it get stuck. Up until this point there were several instances where I just let the bait sit on the bottom because I had to undo a backlash and I had no issue getting it back in. I pulled on it slowly and attempted to dislodge it. No luck. Over and over, I pulled to the left, I pulled to the right. I walked down the shore and tried to loosen it up. Nothing worked. I was getting irritated because Ive lost my fair share of lures and flies, especially lately, and this was the last lure I'd want to lose. It's gotta be the most expensive lure I've ever had. I figured I could wade in and get the lure since the water was no more than two feet deep. I cut the line and tied the lure off to a tree and ran back to my house to get my waders. I got my waders on and got in the water. One step, two steps, three steps, good so far. And then about the fourth or fifth step I just sunk in. There was no way I was gonna walk the eighty or so feet to the lure through this mud. By now