Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to fly fishing and I'm learning a lot as I read. My older brother tells me not to buy anything and that he has everything that I'll need. A few day ago I get this package and it's full of "stuff" some of the stuff I've heard about but have never seen or used. He also sends 3 boxes of flies, some of which he tied himself.

My bro did tell me he didn't send the best quality "stuff" because he said I may not end up enjoying ff as much as he does. But if I do, he said I can replace the cheapo stuff as it wears out or breaks with quality gear later down the road.

I guess my question would be: It there a website I can go to that would help me identify the flies he gave me? Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,651 Posts
Wow what a nice brother!

I don't have any idea how to ID a specific fly tying pattern but I think with a little research you could get an idea and figure out a few general groups of what you have in your loot.

Or you could take individual pictures of EACH fly and start a new thread for EACH one asking for help identifying!

I'm sure people would love that :)

·
Registered
95 Posts
I think your brother has mostly taken care of you. Frankly, though, a lot of the flies wouldn't be very useful. I wouldn't bother trying to identify all of them.

As someone suggested, you could go into a fly shop a few days before you want to go fishing and ask them to go through them with you to pick out the flies that would be useful when and where you plan to fish. They will have some additional recommendations which you can buy in their shop.