Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im not very good at judging wind speeds and wanted to know how much wind is to much? For example:If it says 20mph winds is that to much to have the boat out?

[me=Jay_In_Parker] [/me]

·
Registered
16,651 Posts
That's like asking if -20 below is too cold for ice-fishing. Everybody will have their personal comfort level. It depends how bad you want to fish out of the boat!

D

·
0 Posts
SLAYERFISH said:
That's like asking if -20 below is too cold for ice-fishing. Everybody will have their personal comfort level. It depends how bad you want to fish out of the boat!
And sometimes the wind and waves crashing into the shore will really turn on the fish. So at that point it's a question of whether you can safely control your boat near the rocks while you cash in on the bonanza!

·
Registered
833 Posts
It also depends of where you fish. At Cedar Bluff a 10-20 mph wind is good considering what it's capable of doing.
I agree too that fish turn on especially in at the wind blown points and coves. It's a pain in the rear to hold the boat but it's worth it.

·
Registered
2,878 Posts
It also depends alot on the way you fish-you can troll in 20 MPH with no problem but if you want to fish a senko or tube-forget it. I like to vertical jig in the winter-anything over 10-15 and thats almost impossible unless you anchor. As the wind gets higher I start going more and more to the hard baits like cranks and spinnerbaits.

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
One reason I am upgrading trolling motor this year. By the way a 15 to 20 mile an hour wind in Kansas is called a breeze.

·
Registered
4,813 Posts